Webinar: From Preemie to Young Adult: A 26-year retrospective look at parenting a NICU graduate

Webinar Date:  Friday, May 12, 2017:  9 am PT, 10 am MT; 11 am CT, noon EST

Faculty: Laura Mller

Have you ever thought to yourself, “I wonder what happened to that family, once they left the NICU?” Thousands of infants and their parents spend time in NICUs every year, but once they transition to home, we often lose track of them.

Through pictures and stories, Laura will share a long-range view of her life, and of her 27-week twins, after their NICU experience.  You’ll hear how a six-month NICU stay impacted every aspect of their lives. Laura will talk candidly about PTSD, disabilities, mental health, coping and adapting; and how she discovered new personal and professional paths as a result of her experiences from the early 1990’s.

Our Learning Objectives:

  1. Identify three long-term effects on parents of a NICU stay
  2. List two minor-morbidities that don’t seem so minor to NICU graduates or their parents
  3. Discuss two strategies to support NICU families during and following their stay in the hospital